DIY: Envelopes

Yesterday, after finishing a cup of coffee, I thought of making something nice.

Then the thought of making my own envelopes just came into my mind. πŸ˜€

I don’t know why but I have this special love for fancy envelopes. I used to collect stationeries (those fancy letter set with really, really cute envelopes and matching papers) and would not use them just so I can preserve them…but then I’d sell them eventually if I don’t have anything to get from my pocket already. πŸ˜›

And with that craft in mind, I grabbed all the materials needed and made some. I used some of the wrapping papers. because I thought they were fancy and pretty looking.Β Β πŸ˜€

And these are my envelopes!

DSC_9431 copy

These envelopes are very easy to make and the procedures are so self-explanatory! I bet you can do a lot in just one day, even without looking at the procedures or how-to instructions! πŸ™‚

But anyway, if you want to make some for yourself, just follow the steps below and start the fun! πŸ™‚

***

DSC_9434 copy

First, get the materials. You will need these:

DSC_9404 copy

To start, trace the old envelope, (so it will serve as your template) on the wrong side of your decorative paper.

DSC_9412 copy

After tracing the the old envelope, you will end up having this:

DSC_9414 copy

Cut the template that you just traced (be careful when using scissors. Just a friendly reminder. πŸ˜‰ ) When you’re done cutting, follow the folding procedures below:

DSC_9419 copy

DSC_9420 copy

DSC_9421 copy

After folding the side and bottom flaps, stick them together using glue… (white glue or stick glue, anything will do.) πŸ™‚

TIP: if you’re using white glue, use it with a brush to control your application so it will not end up too wet or too thick.

Then lastly, after you’re done sticking, fold the top flap…

DSC_9422 copy

…and voila! You’re done! πŸ˜€

Now you have your own envelope. Congratulations you were able to make it! πŸ˜€

I can’t wait to make some more and write letters or even make handmade cards that will go with it and give them to my family and friends. πŸ™‚

I’m even thinking of a stationery swap or “barter” like what I used to do in my childhood days. The possibilities are endless! πŸ˜€

DSC_9423 copy

I hope you had fun making your own envelopes! πŸ™‚ Have a great crafting day! :*

~Ainee

Leave a Reply

