DIY: Coptic and Saddle Stitch Binding

Hellooooooooo everyone!

I can’t believe it’s been months since I last updated this blog and I am very sorry about that. Was busy keeping up with some schedules and appointments at home, and crafting. πŸ™‚

Anyway, what I want to share now is what I usually do when I run out of glue for my bookmaking projects.

Sometimes, there would always come a time that I would realize that I already ran out of glue. I use PVA glue since it’s stretchable and acid-free which is good for the books’ spine. And normally, those kinds of glue are not really easy to find here in the Philippines. 😦

So what would I do if there’s no glue or there’s not enough glue? I do these following binding methods:

 

1.) COPTIC STITCH BINDING

 

DSC_4707 copy

 

The very thing I like about Coptic stitch binding is it requires no glue, allows the book to lay completely flat (perfect for sketching, doodling or even writing), and you can even play with colors and customizing it according to what suits you by using different colored threads and using colored papers for the pages. πŸ™‚ This is my favourite binding method next to hardcase binding.

 

Add some fun to your journals by using colored papers that match your thread or cover!
Add some fun to your journals by using colored papers that match your thread or cover!

 

Coptic Stitch binding requires no glue and allows the book to lay completely flat, which is perfect for sketching, doodling, anything. :)
Coptic Stitch binding requires no glue and allows the book to lay completely flat, which is perfect for sketching, doodling, anything. πŸ™‚

 

A little history about Coptic Stitch Binding:

Coptic bindings are seen as the first β€œtrue” codices in book history.Β Β Dating from the second century, Coptic bindings use a multiple loop stitch to bind page sections to a front and back cover. This method of sewing together paged documents was common practice through the eleventh century (Peterson, 41). β€œTrue” Coptic bindings leave the spine exposed, but some later examples of this technique have been encased in leather wrappings (Peterson, 45). The Coptic method of binding was first used to bind together leaves of papyrus in Islamic Egypt, and evolved alongside the ever-changing book technologies, binding everything from parchment to vellum and paper books.

 

 

2.) SADDLE STITCH BINDING

 

1525238_10203593784914653_1302732003_n copy

 

This is another way I use because this doesn’t really need glue at all. All you need to have are some papers (the sheets depend on how thick you want your book to be), some sturdy colored paper (plain or printed, up to you), waxed thread and a needle. Just sew them together and you will have a journal in an instant. πŸ™‚ I used a Saddle Stitch Binding with Thread method here. The other version of saddle stitch binding is using staples. This kind of binding is I think, the easiest.

I sometimes leave the cover plain because I find it nice. But there are also times that I want to jazz up the cover and draw some fun patterns on them. πŸ™‚ Will share the patterns on a next blog post. πŸ™‚

 

Some history: πŸ™‚

Saddle-stitchingΒ or saddle stapling or “booklet-making” is common for small booklets, calendars, pocket-size address books, reports, and some magazines. Several sheets of paper are folded (the fold becomes the spine of the booklet) and the booklet is either stitched along the fold (with what is basically an industrial sewing maching) or two or more staples are placed in the fold.

 

 

So there they are. πŸ™‚

If you are interested to know how to make these stitch binding methods for these books, watch the videos below. πŸ™‚

 

 

 

I hope you’ll have fun making! Coffee break for me now! πŸ™‚

~Ainee

9 thoughts on “DIY: Coptic and Saddle Stitch Binding

  1. Hi Ainee! Thanks for this post- I’ve been meaning to make my own notebooks just to cut costs on buying too many hehe! Anyway, I wouls just want to ask, what do you use to punch holes in the signatures and covers?

    Like

    1. Hi Rouella, you’re welcome! About the tool I’m using for punching holes, I’m using push pins for now because I can’t seem to find an awl here sa aming place. If you can find an awl, it would be nicer since push pins are very painful sa fingers.

      Like

Leave a Reply

