Fake It! :)

Do you want to do calligraphy but don’t have the tools (nibs, nib holder, calligraphy ink and sheets) yet? Do you find it difficult to do calligraphy because you really have no time to practice?

Well, don’t worry because you’re not alone! πŸ˜€

I have always been in love with calligraphy and I have always fancied of doing it someday. But when I found out that it costs a lot to do calligraphy, and not to mention that it will be really difficult especially for newbies like me and that you’ll need ample amount of time and patience to practice calligraphy (which I really don’t have, sometimes) and steady hands, I decided to do calligraphy in my own, simple way.

I faked it! πŸ˜€ Lol.

Having hard time with calligraphy? Try faking it. ;)
Having hard time with calligraphy? Try faking it. πŸ˜‰

Yes, you can actually fake calligraphy. It’s very easy to do. But like the real calligraphy, you still need to have steady hands to do it.

So, here’s how I fake my calligraphy.

 

1. Write your word in a basic script.

Get a pen and a marker.

I always start by writing my words in a simple and basic script or cursive writing using my G-tec 0.3 pen.

Step 1: Start by writing your word/s in a simple and basic script or cursive writing.
Step 1: Start by writing your word/s in a simple and basic script or cursive writing.

 

2. Drawing shadow strokes on the downward strokes of the letters.

After writing down the word, I would then draw shadow strokes on the parts of the letter where my pen will go downward. If you want to imitate the real calligraphy thing, it is always a rule that the downward stroke of the letters will always have the pressure.

Step 2: Draw shadow/pressure strokes on the letters where the pen goes down.
Step 2: Draw shadow/pressure strokes on the letters where the pen goes down.

 

3. Filling the shadow strokes and we’re done!

So, after that, I would finish it by filling (or coloring) the shadow/pressure strokes I drew earlier with a marker, and we’re done! Yay! We’ve faked it! πŸ˜€ Woohoo! πŸ˜€

Fill out the shadow/pressure strokes.
Fill out the shadow/pressure strokes.

 

Faking calligraphy is simple. I have always used this technique ever since and it has helped me a lot of times. πŸ™‚ But when I get the opportunity to really do the real calligraphy, I’d really do it. But for now, I’d just fake it until I finally make it. Anyway, as long as the words and letters look beautiful, it would still be considered as calligraphy since the real meaning of calligraphy is “beautiful writing.” πŸ™‚

I hope you found this helpful. πŸ™‚ Have fun faking it til’ you finally make it! πŸ˜‰

 

xoxo,

~Ainee

Leave a Reply

