How To: Remove Stubborn Scuffs On Shoes

So you bought or own a pair of shoes (especially the light-coloured ones) and you accidentally gave them scuffs.

You tried to wash them with soap and water but you found out that they were too stubborn to be removed and you’re getting hopeless.

Have you ever experienced this? I did and it was so, so terrible!

I had a pair of high-heeled shoes with a bone colour and I love them so much until I accidentally scratched one of them on to something rough and found out I gave it a visible scuff.

How To: Remove Stubborn Scuffs on Shoes|Ainee Macaraeg|CoffeeBreaksandRainyDays2015

How To: Remove Stubborn Scuffs on Shoes|Ainee Macaraeg|CoffeeBreaksandRainyDays2015

How To: Remove Stubborn Scuffs on Shoes|Ainee Macaraeg|CoffeeBreaksandRainyDays2015

The scuff bothered me so much that I did everything in my power (lol) to take them off. Have tried all soaps and detergents to make them go away but they didn’t go away and I was just pulling my hair out of desperation. I was also worried of over doing the washing because I’m afraid the detergent might ruin the colour or the surface of the shoes. 😦

I didn’t want to ruin them because they were my husband’s gift to me and I couldn’t just bear looking at them with scuffs. I’m sentimental like that. πŸ˜₯

Without any success, I Googled some solutions and guess what? I found a solution! (I’m so thankful for Google!)

I wasn’t really sure though if the said solution was really effective so I did a trial first before I decided to share it here.

And yes, it did work. πŸ˜€ Hurrah! πŸ˜€

Let’s have our girl power on because the solution that solved my problem was: a nail polish remover! πŸ˜€

Fortunately, I had one in my cabinet and I was so happy. πŸ˜€

So for now, I would like to share with you on how to remove stubborn scuffs on your shoes. πŸ™‚

How To: Remove Stubborn Scuffs on Shoes|Ainee Macaraeg|CoffeeBreaksandRainyDays2015What you need:

-Your scuffed shoe(s)

-A nail polish remover

-Some Q-tips or cotton balls

-A wet and dry piece of cloth (for the cleaning off of any residue later)

-White shoe polish (this is optional)

How To Remove Stubborn Scuffs on ShoesNote: Before using the nail polish, test it first. I read that some nail polish have very high acetone content which can damage your shoe’s surface. My nail polish remover had only 30% acetone which meant it’s okay and safe for my shoes.

All you have to do is put a little amount of nail polish remover on your Q-tips or cotton balls and gently wipe it on the scuffs of your shoe(s). You may have to do it a few times until the scuffs go off completely. I did mine for 3-4 times.
How To: Remove Stubborn Scuffs on Shoes|Ainee Macaraeg|CoffeeBreaksandRainyDays2015

After 3-4 times of wiping, tadaaaaaa! The scuff is gone! πŸ˜€ I’m so happy! It really did the trick. πŸ˜€ I did the same to the other pair and decided to clean some of the stains I found on the shoes. Then I wiped the shoes with a clean, wet cloth first to remove some of the residue of the stains then with a dry cloth to, dry them off, of course. πŸ˜›

Just in case yours have stains that are really hard to remove, you can apply a shoe polish on your shoes to cover them up. For my case, I wanted to retain the bone colour of my shoes so I didn’t really need the white shoe polish. πŸ™‚

How To: Remove Stubborn Scuffs on Shoes|Ainee Macaraeg|CoffeeBreaksandRainyDays2015

They look so clean again. πŸ˜€ No more stubborn scuffs. πŸ˜€

How To: Remove Stubborn Scuffs on Shoes|Ainee Macaraeg|CoffeeBreaksandRainyDays2015

Happy Feet! :)
Happy Feet! πŸ™‚

I’m so glad to see the shoes my husband gave me looking clean and pretty again. πŸ™‚

I hope you found this “fashion hack” helpful. πŸ™‚ I really found it very helpful. πŸ™‚

May you have a happy feet day everyone! πŸ˜€

xoxo,

~Ainee

2 thoughts on “How To: Remove Stubborn Scuffs On Shoes

Leave a Reply

