Marimekko Inspired Mini Notepad

Lately, I have been having an extreme attraction to one of Marimekko’s  pattern design. In case you haven’t heard about Marimekko yet, I made a background check. 😉

Marimekko is a Finnish textile and clothing design company renowned for its original prints and colours. The company designs and manufactures high-quality interior decoration items ranging from furnishing fabrics to tableware as well as clothing, bags and other accessories.

When Marimekko was founded in 1951, its unparalleled printed fabrics gave it a strong and unique identity. Marimekko products are sold in approximately 40 countries. In 2013, brand sales of Marimekko products worldwide amounted to approximately EUR 191 million and the company’s net sales were EUR 94 million. The number of Marimekko stores totalled 133 at the year end. The key markets are North America, Northern Europe and the Asia-Pacific region. The Group employs around 500 people. The company’s share is quoted on NASDAQ OMX Helsinki Ltd.

 

The Unikko Red by Maija Isola for Marimekko. 🙂 I love the look of the pattern because it’s so pretty and happy. No wonder it has been printed on almost everything: fabric and porcelain and has been turned into bags, clothing, shoes, and more.

This pattern has also been used in notebook and journal covers. And that gave me a nice idea on what I will do with my next planned project. 🙂

I decided to do a mini notepad with this design as the cover. 😀

Without much ado, I brought out all my materials and started making right away.

I have 5 sheets of paper for signatures (journal pages) and an extra sheet to serve as cover.

I first sketched the flowers on the cover. The Unikko flowers are very easy to draw but I just looked at some images to make sure that it looks a bit the same.

Marimekko Inspired Mini Notepad/Sketching|AineeMacaraeg|CoffeeBreaksandRainyDays2015

My rough sketch for the cover looked like this. 🙂

Marimekko Inspired Mini Notepad/Outlining|AineeMacaraeg|CoffeeBreaksandRainyDays2015

After sketching, I took some Sharpie markers to colour my sketch. The Unikko flower pattern consists of Red, Orange, Fuchsia and Black colours. I realised that it was very difficult to use the extra fine tip point marker for this. It took me hours to finish colouring. I should have brought some Sharpies with a bigger tip for a bigger coverage. 😛

Marimekko Inspired Mini Notepad/Coloring|AineeMacaraeg|CoffeeBreaksandRainyDays2015

It’s very difficult to take a photo while colouring at the same time. 😛 I did some retouching and recolouring. After how many hours of colouring, my cover is finished. 🙂 I added a black border for the spine. Then I punched holes for the signatures to be sewn in.

Marimekko Inspired Mini Notepad/AineeMacaraeg|CoffeeBreaksandRainyDays2015

I used the Saddle Stitch Binding technique for this notepad because it is easier that way. 🙂 After stitching, trimmed off some of the edge so that it will have a nice, neat and even edges. My mini notepad is halfway done! 😀

Marimekko Inspired Mini Notepad|AineeMacaraeg|CoffeeBreaksandRainyDays2015

I decided to punch the corners of my notepad because I think it looks more pretty that way. I have always loved journals or notebooks with rounded corners. 🙂

Marimekko Inspired Mini Notepad/Punching|AineeMacaraeg|CoffeeBreaksandRainyDays2015

And my mini notepad is finished and ready to be used!!! 😀

Marimekko Inspired Mini Notepad|AineeMacaraeg|CoffeeBreaksandRainyDays2015

I really had fun making this. I was happy that it turned out well. 🙂 But if I were to make it again, I wouldn’t use markers anymore since they become dull eventually. I would use colours that are vibrant and glossy. I even scanned my cover before making this notepad and I tried editing it in Photoshop just to see the difference and as a back up in case anything goes wrong. I really am not that expert in Photoshop, I admit. 😛

marimekkopattern2

It looks so vibrant and more polished. Maybe I’ll use this next time if I decide to make more of this. I really am planning to make more of this as gifts or personal use. 😀 And maybe next time I’ll use and experiment with different colours. 🙂

Now, I’m going to enjoy my Marimekko inspired mini notepad. 🙂

Marimekko Inspired Mini Notepad|AineeMacaraeg|CoffeeBreaksandRainyDays2015

 

Have a colourful and pretty day everyone! 🙂

 

xoxo,

~Ainee

 

2 thoughts on “Marimekko Inspired Mini Notepad

Leave a Reply

